Interviewed in NYC, all I got was a bruised ego.


Last week, I had an out-of-town job interview. I was excited . I’d aced two  previous phone screenings,  came highly recommended and knew I had the experience, accomplishments and ideas this women’s social justice organization was looking for. Things were moving fast. Traveling to New York for an in-person meeting felt like my chance to seal the deal.

I woke up around 4:30 am.  Took the 7:00 am.  I arrived at the office early feeling confident. The six-person panel and I sat down. I made eye contact.  Kept it personal and universal, and shared accomplishments and past experiences. It went well but not outstanding.  I stumbled on a response or two. They were a tough crowd but I held my own.

When the interview ended after over an hour, the HR person said to me, “Ok. Step outside while we discuss next steps.” (Awkward.) I felt a little frozen standing in the lobby to  await my fate.  After  a few minutes she walked up to me and said,”Ok. I’ll be in touch. I will call you.” That was it! It was over.

No “thanks for coming to NY at the last minute” or appreciation for rearranging my schedule.  She didn’t even tell me what a pleasure it was to meet me.  They held tribal council and kicked me to the curb like I’d done something wrong.  I felt humiliated and  a little embarrassed for having felt so confident and excited in the first place.  I’ll admit that.

I mean, how does one walk away from an interview with a social justice organization feeling like you’d just crashed casting call?  To add insult, they didn’t pay me for  travel expenses. (and they could afford it!).  They NEVER emailed, called or anything.  I can’t help but wonder how many other job seekers have had the same experience? and why treat applicants this way?

For all my troubles, all I got was a bruised ego. Oh well, onward and upward!

This entry was posted in Food for Thought, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interviewed in NYC, all I got was a bruised ego.

  1. missdisplaced says:

    Ouch!
    Did you call and ask for feedback? I don’t know if they will take your call. Usually I find the HR people ignore you if you’re not the chosen one, but it’s worth a try.
    These people behave so rudely. It’s like they know they have all this power and abuse it.

  2. convo_girl says:

    @missdisplaced Ouch is right. How folks treat the little people says a lot about their values, culture. So essentially, it was a much a learning experience for me as it was anything else.

    If I could give them a piece of my mind (politely), I would. But I can’t. So, I blogged about it.

Leave a Reply

